The Optimist’s Creed

I read this a couple of years ago…Its supposedly Spring and I am spring cleaning. So here’s a treasure I found a couple of weeks ago. This is from The Secret

The Optimists Creed – by Christian D. Larson – 1912 


To be so strong that nothing can disturb my peace of mind.

To talk health, happiness, and prosperity to every person I meet.

To make all my friends feel that there is something worthwhile in them.

To look at the sunny side of everything, and make my optimism come true.

To think only of the best, to work only for the best and to expect only the best.

To be just as enthusiastic about the success of others as I am about my own.

To forget the mistakes of the past and press on to the greater achievements of the future.

To wear a cheerful expression at all times and give a smile to every living creature I meet.

To give so much time to improving myself that I have no time to criticize others.

To be too large for worry, too noble for anger, too strong for fear, and too happy to permit the presence of trouble.

To think well of myself and to proclaim this fact to the world, not in loud words, but in great deeds.

To live in the faith that the whole world is on my side, so long as I am true to the best that is in me.


Filed under Consciousness, Life, Love, Prayers, Smile, Soul, Strength, Thoughts

4 responses to “The Optimist’s Creed

  1. Teresa Silverthorn

    To live in the faith that the whole world is on my side, so long as I am true to the best that is in me.

    This is an interesting conundrum to many.

    Many feel exactly opposite, of this theory, actually. Some say that the more pure you attempt to become, the more “evil” you draw to your side.

    Yes it is a conundrum to many…somewhere we lost the ability to trust ourselves…

  2. Lovely words Mysoul. Hard to live up to I guess at times but a wonderful ethos to aspire to

    It is tough to apply the words at times but as long as our intentions are in the aspiring, we will get there. :)

  3. momofrs

    Oh dear!!
    I guess I dropped by at the right time :)
    I’m having a low phase lately and somehow, this post makes me sit up and shrug off my negativities.
    “To live in the faith that the whole world is on my side, so long as I am true to the best that is in me.” ~ this line did me in :D
    Thanks for posting this.

    Dear N, you are welcome. I am glad it helped…the Universe always gives you what you need, when you need it and are prepared to receive it. Hope you are feeling better now :)

  4. This made me smile. An incredibly inspirational proclamation!

    Mysoul says- I came across this when I really needed a pick-me-up. Glad to share it.:)

Leave a Reply

